Eddy Kenzo, John Blaq win big. See Full list of the 2020 HiPipo Awards Winners.


By Waiswa Brian

The prestigious HiPipo Music Awards is an annual extravaganza organised by HiPipo (U) LTD, to celebrate, promote and recognize music excellence in across Africa. The prestigious HiPipo Music Awards are the spirit that binds our music, art and culture. The project and event is an initiative of HiPipo following HiPipo founding in 2006/7 as a digital, music/content and events company in Uganda. Stakeholders: includes and is not limited to Artists, Performing Musicians, Audio/Video Producers, Sound Engineers, Artist Managers, Events Promoters and Managers, Entertainment Media, Public Music Consumers and Fans.

The 2020 edition was a special one, due to the global outbreak of the Corona Virus Pandemic, there was a live virtual event were the winners in over 40 HiPipo Music Awards categories as voted by the music fans from across Africa.

These are the winners of the 2020 HiPipo Music Awards. The event was held online on Friday 29th May 2020;

Africa Song of the Year – Parte after Parte- Big Tril

Africa’s Number 1 – Eddy Kenzo

Artist of the Year – Eddy Kenzo

Best Acapella Group – Jehovah Shalom

Best Afrobeat Song – Do Dat – John Blaq

Best Afropop song – Ebyalagirwa – John Blaq

Best Audio Producer – Producer Ronnie

Best Bang song – Call me – Chris Evans

Best Breakthrough Artist – John Blaq

Also Read: John Blaq Secures Social Media Handles
Best Choreography – Ghetto Kids Triplets

Best Collabo – B2C & Rema

Best DJ – Slick Stuart & Roja

Best Female Artist – Sheebah Karungi

Best Male artist – Eddy Kenzo

Best Reggae song – Squeeze- Fille & Voltage Music

Best Songwriter – Daddy Andre

Best Soul Song – Oliwa – Kenneth Mugabi

Best Video Director – Nolton & George

Best Zouk Song – Gutujja- B2C & Rema

Best Cinematography/ Editing – Martin Beta for Ogwo (Eddy kenzo ft Wembley Mo) Foundation

Best Ragga / Dancehall song – Sweet Sensation – Sheebah ft Orezi

Best East Africa Superhit – The one – Diamond Platnumz

Best exceptional young Act – Fresh Kid

Best religious / Gospel Act – Chikibombe- Levixone ft Timeless Noel

Video of the Year – Sabisubira – Kabako

Lifetime Achievement Award – Moses Matovu

Most Stylish Artist – Fik Fameica

Best Hip hop / Rap Song – Parte after Parte – Big Tril

Best Rwanda Act – Homba Homboka – Deejay Pius

Best Rnb Song – Sunday – Slick Stuart & Roja ft Allan Toniks

Song of Year – Do Dat – John Blaq

Tanzanian Best Act – The one – Diamond Platnumz

Video Trailblazer Award – Masaka Kids Africana

Written Record of the Year – Omusheshe – Spice Diana & Ray G